Security: From the Rock

Security

From the Daily Post’s Weekly Photo Challenge instructions: “For this week’s challenge, show us something that represents security. It could be your kids happily reading under their favorite throw blanket. It could be a roaring fire chasing away the last of winter’s cold. It could be a worry stone you keep in your pocket or that favorite tee shirt that makes you feel awesome every time you put it on.”

Truly, only one thing is able to satisfy my need for security, comfort & peace, and that is the Lord:

‘Do not fear, for I am with you; Do not anxiously look about you, for I am your God. I will strengthen you, surely I will help you, Surely I will uphold you with My righteous right hand.’ Isaiah 41:10 

This verse is one of my “security” scriptures. It’s one of several that I have held onto over the years, reminding me that while things in my world may look dark, His light will overtake the darkness.

The photo below is of a simple wooden cross found on the side of a mountain trail near a central Texas lake. It was an unexpected sight when we were descending the hill during our hike. It made me wonder who planted it there, and for what reason. Had someone died near that spot? Was a beloved pet buried there? Or was it to honor the Creator of the natural beauty all around us?

There wasn’t a plaque or anything noting the purpose, so one could form any number of ideas as to it’s origin story. All I know is it made me think about Jesus and my gratitude for a Savior who died for me…

015

Here is a view toward the lake from the mountain with the cross. It’s easy to gaze out and be thankful for a beautiful day spent in nature with people you love. ❤

011

One thought on “Security: From the Rock

  1. Pingback: Security: Glass | What's (in) the picture?

Leave a Reply

